The Sangguniang Panlalawigan of the province of Compostela Valley officially opened its 8th Sanggunian last Tuesday, July 2, 2019, at the new Sangguniang Panlalawigan Session Hall.

In attendance during the maiden session is Vice-Governor Maria Carmen S. Zamora, Senior Board Member Arturo T. Uy, Hon. Nena G. Atamosa, Hon. Kristine Mae T. Caballero-Rañon, Hon. Adolfo C. Ang, Hon. Raul B. Caballero, Hon. Marie Jude M. Fuentes-Lopoz, Hon. Vivencia L. Secuya, Hon. Renato B. Basañes, Hon. Macario T. Humol, and Hon. Joseph T. Jauod, Ex-Officio Members Hon. Raul C. Timogtimog, Hon. Christopher L. Jovita, Hon. Felipe B. Masambo, and Hon. Charlemagne B. Bautista.

Each member laid out their plans and legislative direction for the next three years, highlighting on the partnership between both the executive and legislative branch.

“The glory and progress of our province should depend on our unified visions and efforts,” said Senior Board Member Arturo T. Uy in his privilege speech.

Part of the strategy of the 8th Sanggunian is to not only create new legislation in support to the administration’s programs but to also review older laws to better fit the current situation of the people.

“I think it’s about time to revisit all our laws and implement post-legislative review. The purpose of which is to determine whether the piece of legislation is working as it was intended to. If it’s not, to discover why and to address any gap as quickly as effectively as possible,” shared Vice-Governor Maricar S. Zamora.

Governor Jayvee Tyron L. Uy, First District Congressman Manual E. Zamora, Municipal Mayors and Vice-Mayors, as well as the head of offices of the executive branch were present to show their support to the Legislative Branch.

The success of the maiden session is a reflection of the commitment of the leaders in both the executive and legislative branch to lead with as single vision, and that is to excellence in the service to the people.

Related Post