DAVAO DE ORO – 450 tourism officers and personnel from the Provincial Local Government Unit (PLGU) of Davao de Oro and eight of its municipalities, namely Mabini, Maco, Maragusan, Monkayo, Montevista, Nabunturan, New Bataan, and Pantukan had just been vaccinated against Covid-19 on July 17 and 18, 2021, under Resbakuna-Bakuna para sa Turismo sa Davao de Oro. This event was held as PLGU-Davao de Oro’s first inter-municipality vaccination project for tourism stakeholders, frontliners, and employees from the province’s tourism departments.

The vaccination of the province’s tourism officers and employees is a precautionary step to the coming reinstatement of the tourism industry whose workers are most prone to Covid-19 exposure due to frequent face-to-face transactions. This vaccination project is also a stepping stone to help the tourism industry which is among those that economically suffered during the Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) that was implemented in the province beginning July 2021.

In addition, a total of 43, 150 doses of Johnson and Johnson Covid-19 vaccines had just arrived in Davao de Oro from the Department of Health, which were received by the Provincial Health Office (PHO) yesterday, July 21, 2020. The newly arrived vaccines were personally inspected by Governor Jayvee Tyron L. Uy, who was behind the provincial government’s request to ask for the provision of vaccines to areas that were put under MECQ. The vaccines will be distributed to the province’s municipal government units where unvaccinated senior citizens and frontliners will be given priority.

Amidst the ongoing pandemic where various rumors against vaccines are heavily circulating within the masses, communicating the importance of getting vaccinated is crucial especially now that foreign variants of Covid are emerging. In response, Davao de Oro’s public servants are now standing as the leading examples that prove Covid-19 vaccines are safe.

This initiative was made possible through the collaboration of our tourism and investment offices in each Municipal Local Government Unit concerned, our tourism establishments, the Department of Tourism, the Provincial Investments and Tourism Office, the Department of Health, and the Provincial Vaccination Team.

Related Post