People are allowed to exit the region anytime, but they cannot come back within the 14-day period, says Davao Region task force chair and Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte

DAVAO CITY, Philippines – Officials in President Rodrigo Duterte’s home region have decided to go into full lockdown, preventing the entry of any individual from other areas starting Thursday, March 19.

In an advisory sent out from the Davao City government, the Regional Peace and Order Council and Regional Development Council of Davao Region (Region 11) – which is made up of the provinces of Davao del Sur, Davao Occidental, Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, and Davao de Oro – said it also created the Davao Region Covid-19 Task Force.

“(The) Davao Region Covid19 Task Force shall implement the suspension of Land, Sea and Domestic Air for 14 days, and maybe reduced to 7 days upon review of Infectious Disease Specialist Consultant. – Close all entry to Region XI at 00:01H Thursday, 19 March 2020,” the advisory read.

The Task Force, chaired by Mayor Sara Duterte, said those exiting the region will be allowed anytime.

“(B)ut (they) cannot come back beginning 00:01H Thursday, 19 March 2020 and for the next 14 days,” it added.

The lockdown is part of the implementation of a regionwide unified effort across local government units to contain the COVID-19 infection, it added.


Related Post