NABUNTURAN, DAVAO DE ORO – In celebration of the 29th Anniversary of the Local Government Code of 1991, the Philippine Councilors’ League (PCL)-Davao de Oro staged the CY 2019 Local Legislative Award (LLA), Monday, October 12, 2020.

Headed by PCL-DdO Chapter President Board Member Nicky R. Opisan, in partnership with the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), the Vice Governor’s Office, and the Sangguniang Panlalawigan, the 11 municipalities were evaluated in their effectiveness, quality of legislative documents, efficiency of performance, and the quality of office set-up and staff compliment.

This year’s revival of the LLA recognizes the exemplary performance of the 11 Sanggunians particularly in legislating measures essential in building the foundation of meaningful local administration and development and in strengthening mechanisms conforming to the International Standardization Organization (ISO).

Meanwhile, the Municipality of Maragusan bested 10 other Sanggunians as it was hailed champion and the Best Performing Sangguniang Bayan with its highly-lauded feedback mechanism by organizing a Legislative Tracking System for collecting, analyzing and responding to recipients’ feedback on the quality and effectiveness of their enacted ordinances and resolutions which set them apart from other municipalities.

The Sangguniang Bayan of Monkayo secured the 2nd spot with its strength in promoting the well-being of its constituents by innovating programs anchored on the core pillars of Philippine Development Plan – the Malasakit, Pagbabago, and Patuloy na pag-unlad, while the Sangguniang Bayan of New Bataan bagged the 3rd place drawing advantage in its 100% compliance to the Local Government Code’s requirement of submitting the approved ordinances and resolutions to the Sangguniang Panlalawigan within three days after approval.

The Local Legislative Award commenced last 2006 but was not fully sustained. Now, with the recently enacted Provincial Ordinance No. 72-2020, An Ordinance Institutionalizing Local Legislative Award, the LLA is expected to be held annually.

Related Post