July 11, 2019/Crowne Plaza, Manila– Compostela Valley Governor Jayvee Tyron L. Uy was selected as the Regional Chair and consequently, the representative of Davao Region to the League of the Provinces of the Philippines (LPP) in the recently held general assembly and elections of the new set of officers.

The young governor secured three out of the five votes from the five governors of the Davao Region. He got the endorsement of Gov. Dayanghirang of Davao Oriental, Gov. Bautista of Davao Occidental and Gov. Jubahib of Davao del Norte. Gov. Uy was also elected the new Deputy Secretary-General for Mindanao. By virtue of the selection, Gov. Uy will represent Davao Region in the LPP Executive Board.

Former Supreme Court associate justice and now Marinduque Governor Presbitero Velasco was elected president of the LPP, Quirino Gov. Dakila Carlo Cua as National Chairman and Tarlac Gov. Susan Yap as National Executive President. The new set of officers took oath before Senator Imee Marcos, a former governor herself.

The LPP is the convergence of all provincial governors in the country to advance and protect decentralization and autonomy of local government units.

As of the moment, Governor Uy is Mindanao’s youngest governor and the third youngest in the entire country.

Related Post

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.